The Inspiring and Positive World of Wavy Davy

The Victor-Ruffy Roadworks-Themed Botanical Garden

Posted in I can't believe I'm complaining about this by David Wylie on June 25, 2007

The Victor-Ruffy Roadworks-Themed Botanical Garden

Originally uploaded by Dame Margot Fonteyn.

Cheeky wee maths question;

If one hundred and fifty men changing sewage and water supplies can choke the traffic on the three main arteries into a town for four months, how long can a team of five or six men in miniature diggers and really weird hats hold the same town in the same stranglehold? And the answer is…..

friggin’ years! I can’t believe how long it’s taken, how few people are ever visible doing the job, and the cherry on the cake, the magnificent coordination job somebody did in getting the other two main routes dug up at the same time.

I’d like to thank you, whoever you are, oh king of coordination, from the bottom of my gas struts and exhaust mounts.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. inspire.expire said, on June 29, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    The works to dig the small tunnel for pedestrians at the… Place du Tunnel started a bit before the Channel Tunnel’s works. They *did* end up after the Channel Tunnel was completed. They say there’s nothing like swiss engineering…

  2. David Wylie said, on July 1, 2007 at 10:44 am

    I remember. I also remember standing at the place du Nord scratching my head at the tunnel that seemed more like a bridge, and l’Hotel de Police, a building I believed to be a hotel, possibly for holidaying police officers. In any case, I knew I had arrived in a foreign land…


Leave a Reply

